Thursday, May 24, 2012

Word of the Day: Lumping

Yes, Lumping.  My daughter clued me into the proper use of the word lumping.

Paige:  Mommy, you know sometimes when I'm feeding Lollipop, I'll scratch her back and she'll start lumping it.
Me:  Lumping it?
Paige:  Yeah, she lumps her back.
Me:  (Sort of just standing there, staring at her, trying to figure out where this is going to go.....) Do you mean arching her back, like a cat?
Paige:  Yeah, lumping.  That's what lumping is.
Me:  Well, actually, lumping isn't a word, but know that I know what you mean, then we're good.
Paige:  She also makes that noise.
Me:  What noise?
Paige:  That noise Gilbert makes when he's in her cage and she's lumping her back.  He purrs.  She purrs.  She purrs when I scratch her back.
Me:  Paige, where did you come up with the term lumping?
Paige:  (very thoughtfully, mind you) Well, you and Daddy always tell the dogs to stop humping each other and that's kind of what Gilbert does to Lollipop.  But, Gilbert loves Lollipop, so it's love and humping.  Lumping.

Can't argue with that logic now, can I?

Keep it spicy....and keep lumping :)

K

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

An Open Letter to Paige.......

Dearest Paige,

When packing your lunch in the mornings (like yesterday morning when your mommy was sick and slept in and you told your daddy "you could take care of it."), please pack something other than juice and applesauce to eat with your ice cream at lunch.  Not only is this an unhealthy lunch for a growing girl who needs a good meal in the middle of the day, it also makes your mother look like a complete ass - for several reasons:

1.  I'm a shitty mom and cannot pack a decent lunch for my kid;
2.  I'm the kind of mom that lets my kid take whatever he/she wants;
3.  We have no food and therefore, you have only applesauce to eat;
4.  I don't care that you gorge on ice cream Mondays and Thursdays instead of eating a healthy lunch; and, most importantly,

5.  It makes your mommy look like a jackass after she ripped the school lunch lady a new ass for not providing healthy enough lunches for the children of St. Joseph.

This means two things - I care about your nutrition, of course; and, how I look to the school lunch lady who I'm sure has been monitoring your lunches since my tirade last week.

In the future, it would mean a lot to me if you could include a sandwich and a piece of fruit in your lunch box. While I feel confident that the majority of your lunches will be packed by me in the future, there is always going to be those off days that you might need to do it yourself.  It would be a good idea to pack somewhat healthy items to offset the (sugar free) chocolate pudding you sometimes eat for breakfast.  The pudding wouldn't be such a big deal if Ms. Volker didn't see you scraping the bottom of the pudding cup when I stop to let you out of the Expedition every morning.  You see, Ms. Volker was also included on my very terse email to the aforementioned lunch lady and in my defense, it was the lunch lady who decided to include the school principal on her reply to me.  I took that as an act of war and responded appropriately :)

I understand you are too young to understand the politics of parenthood, school lunches and my position in the kingdom of indignant even when wrong.  Remember that regardless of the horrific lunch you packed for yourself yesterday (highlighted by your too long bangs and your somewhat too long fingernails), it is imperative that the lunch lady not win this battle and yesterday, well, you unwittingly helped the opposition.  Going forward, let's not allow something like this to happen again.  I know you can do it.

I love you my little Juicy of Love and Deliciousness,

Mommy

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Score One for My Noggin.....

Good Morning!  It's Thursday and I am ready for the weekend!  Something really wonderful happened this morning.  I was able to remember the last four songs that I listened to on my radio!  Even better - I still remember them!!

Cannonball
Backwater
Dope Show
Ocean Size

I know this probably seems weird and eye roll worthy to a lot of people, but for me, it is a HUGE deal.  I normally can't remember hearing a song as soon as it's over.  I don't recall conversations, actions,  you name it.  Getting off of the Cymbalta was supposed to help my short term memory and it has made a difference.  I'm not 100% better, but I'm also not washing my hair four or five times every morning any more because in my mind, it never happened.  Baby steps.....

However....there are plenty of things I DO remember..specific and tedious details...so anyone trying to pull the old, "you just don't remember" bullshit....uh uh.  Not happening.  :)

Lots of chili cook offs this weekend - lots of opportunities to steal some points.  Or, in my case, GET THAT LAST DAMN POINT!!!  Seriously?  I just want 10th place - that's all I'm asking for!  Paige is cooking Saturday at TOT.  I hope she kicks some serious booty!!

I'm still having a hell of a time finding a decent pillow to sleep on.  My neck is JACKED UP this morning.  I can't take a hydrocodone or I'll pass out....so I'll just swallow a handful of Aleve and hope it helps!  I've tried all kinds of pillows and I can't seem to find the right one.  It sucks!!

I've got my mind on the river these days.  It's all I can do to keep from hooking up to my trailer and hauling off to Gruene.  It sure would be nice to tie off to a tree and just float and nap and relax.  I think Paige and I might try and sneak away after she gets out of school.  She and I were both talking about it this morning.  We need a river trip!!  I can't wait until Labor Day - my special birthday weekend with Charlie Robison.  Ohh....that just never gets old! 

Have a great day and even better weekend.  I'm happy to see that Richard Knight is running for CASI Executive Director and that Roger Foltz and Darin Jester are seeking re-election.  Good news for chili cooks.

Keep it Spicy!

The Spice Mistress

Sunday, May 13, 2012

The Simple Things in Life

Happy Mother's Day! I hope all the mommas out there had a fantabulous day! We had a divine lunch at Pappadeaux with Gammy and Pawpaw, Courtney and my in laws, Bryan and Carolyn. We went to the one in Cedar Hill and it was packed! Unknown to us, they opened at 10 am. So, our plan to get there at 11 am didn't work out as expected. Still, we didn't have much of a wait. Paige really didn't care that it was Mother's day. She made sure I realized that no matter the day, she still needs to eat. She also requested that I serve her in bed while she watched a movie! WTH?!?!? It was awesome. That kid never misses a beat.

I had a productive day. Got the treadmill moved, Gary moved a table into the bathroom and I did some laundry. Paige and I also cleaned the guinea habitats. "Mommy, why does Gilbert like to sniff Lollipop's behind and put his front paws on her back?". I like to just pretend like I don't hear these questions. Fortunately, I was able to change the subject!! We stopped at HEB on the way home to get stuff for dinner and lunch stuff for Paige's lunches this week. I was involved in a not so passive aggressive exchange with my child's lunch lady. I've never been a fan of the lunch program at her school. For a private school, the lunch offerings SUCK and while I understand the difficulty of feeding kids, albeit picky kids, I just feel the food is really unhealthy and includes way too many processed foods. I just think its best to make her lunches from now on. That lunch lady really pissed me off!

I had Tilapia Lafeyette for lunch. It had crab meat, tomatoes, capers, basil and shrimp in a light white wine sauce. I loved it!! All of us had fish and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Soooo....I figured simple and easy for dinner. I present to you my supper offering:

CC Black Eyes Peas

1 lb dried black eyed peas
1 small onion, diced
1/2 lb salt pork, sliced
2 Tbsp Beef granules
10 cups water

Soak peas for a few hours; drain water through colander and set peas aside. In a large Dutch oven, brown the salt pork over medium heat. Add the diced onion and continue to cook for about five minutes or until onion starts to soften. Add the peas back to the pot, the beef granules and 10 cups of water; stir to combine. Turn the heat to high and bring to a boil. Once boiling, cover and turn the heat to medium. Simmer covered for an hour. After an hour, check the peas. If they aren't tender yet, add a cup of water and continue to cook on medium heat for another 30 - 45 minutes. They should be tender and you should have a nice gravy. Adjust the liquid to your preference by cooking them a little longer to thicken it, or add a little water to thin it out. Salt to taste and serve with cornbread. Enjoy!!

I thought about floating a Serrano for a little kick, but opted not to. It can certainly be done, though and you'd have a nice pot of peas with a little spice ;)

Have a great evening! I'm going to call it a night! Keep it Spicy!!

The Cadillac Cowgirl

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Greetings Earthlings!

How's it hangin blogosphere?  I can't believe it's already Wednesday.  Where did this week go?  Shit, where did this school year go?  Paige has 2 1/2 weeks of school left and then what I hope is a very relaxing summer break.  She's going to do golf camp this summer.  Yes....golf camp!  She plays it on her Wii and the all day camp lets them swim as well.  Right up that little Juicy's alley. 

I snorted Steak Seasoning today and can't stop coughing.  Yep...I like to cut lines and snort the various spices :)  Haha...kidding.  I even had a mask on, but that stuff is so powdery, it just hangs in the air and always makes me cough and hack.  That sounds super attractive, doesn't it?  I can't wait to share my new venture with everyone.  It's almost complete and then I'll be able to unveil all of the details.  I'm really excited about the future and opportunities this will present for both me and Mild Bill's. 

The other night, I was watching Dancing with the Stars.  Maks was dancing and I commented on how HAWT I think he is.  Paige asked me if he was my boyfriend.  I laughed and told her no.  She then shared this wisdom with me:

"Mommy, you can have a boyfriend even if you are married.  You just can't tell your husband.  And you don't ever, ever want the two of them to meet."

I don't believe I can properly convey my shock at what she said to me.  I asked her MULTIPLE times where she heard that and who told her that.  She kept telling me no one told her and that she didn't hear it anywhere.  She kept telling me it "had been in her head for awhile."  In her head for awhile?  She's EIGHT!!!!!  I told Gary and he was like WTF.  I don't know why he was so WTF.  This is the same child who sang "Mirror mirror on the wall, there's another daddy after all." to her daddy and thought it was funny.  I don't know what's up with that kid...but she is a piece of work.

I'm ready for more ink :)  More like, I'm overdue for some new ink!!  I'm going to finish the sleeve on my right arm.  I need the top filled in some more and I want to continue down to my wrist.  I've got a few ideas, but I'm sure Mr. Chris Erickson will let me know what he's going to tattoo on me and it will be just as fabulous as the other three he's done.  I love him.  I've missed getting tattoos.  That was always my private time; my time to relax.  Gary suggested bluebonnets because he knows how much I love them.  When Chris did my first 1/2 sleeve, we needed some filler and that was one of my suggestions.  He wasn't crazy about doing them because it is a lot of detail and I needed something dark to cover the rest of my old armband that also included my ex-husband's name...that I had to have covered up with Celtic knotwork after I divorced him 24 months after marrying him.  Let me digress for a moment:

DO NOT EVER, EVER PUT ANOTHER MAN OR WOMAN'S NAME ON YOUR BODY - UNLESS IT IS YOUR CHILD'S.  AND, IF THE AFOREMENTIONED MAN OR WOMAN SAYS,"IF YOU LOVE ME YOU'LL DO IT.", RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN FROM THAT CRAZY PERSON.

Back to my tattoo - I ended up with a crow (because I love them) to cover up the black part of the armband.  I think Chris would do a few bluebonnets...at least I hope he would.  I guess I'll need to start scouring the internet for ideas.  I can't wait!!!!

I'm at the store waiting on my sign guy to show up.  I've sent Tyler and Paige home and I'm just hanging out drinking a glass of wine.  We were going to cook in Marshall this Saturday, but we are going to stay home.  We've got a ton of stuff to do around the house and I really, really need to do some more canning.  I switched out my dining tables between the dining room and the kitchen and I need to finish getting that set up the way I like it.  I need to effin laundry and the puppies really, really need a bath.  Maybe I'll make some of my kick ass turkey burgers and we'll just hang out at the house all weekend.  That sounds pretty heavenly!

Have a great evening :)  Sign guy should be here any minute now...I'm going to go troll Google for skull pictures!

Spreading my own special brand of kindness and joy......

K

Monday, May 7, 2012

Pistachio Crusted Sea Bass with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes and Olive Tapenade

I sort of kicked ass on this one.  It f*cking rocked.  Seriously.  Try it out next time you want to do something different with Sea Bass.  You can also use Halibut.

Cadillac Cowgirl Pistachio Crusted Sea Bass with Roasted Tomatoes and Olive Tapenade

1lb Sea Bass Filet
1/4 Cup Pistachios, Shelled
1 tsp Kosher Salt
1 tsp Coarse Ground Telicherry Pepper
1 Tbsp Horseradish
2 Tbsp Chopped Parsley
2 Tbsp Olive Oil, plus more for drizzling
2 Tbsp Panko Bread Crumbs
1/2 Cup Cherry or Grape Tomatoes
1/4 Cup Olive Tapenade (CHEAT, people!!!  Buy the already prepared kind - you can find it with the Pasta Sauce with the Italian food, or over near the deli where they keep the fancy cheese :)!!)

Preheat the oven to 425.  Place the Sea Bass in a greased shallow dish (I used a 1 1/2 qt gratin dish and sprayed it with non stick spray). Using a food processor, combine the pistachios, salt, pepper, horseradish, parsley and olive oil.  Pulse on high until everything is coarsely ground and combined.  It should have a thick consistency and be moist from the olive oil.  Be sure to scrape the sides and using a spatula, spread the mixture over the top of the Sea Bass.  Sprinkle the 2 Tbsp of bread crumbs over the top and drizzle the equivalent of a teaspoon of olive oil over the top.  This will help the bread crumbs stay moist and also turn a nice brown color.  Spoon the tapenade on either side of the fish and then add the cherry or grape tomatoes to it - over the tapenade, but not on top of the fish.  Place in the oven and cook for 25 minutes.  Before removing from the oven, turn the oven to "broil" and broil the Sea Bass on high for 2 to 3 minutes or until the top is brown.  (Skip this step if the fish already has a nice crust from the 25 minutes of cooking).  Allow the Sea Bass to sit for five minutes.  To serve, cut in half and place each piece on a plate.  Spoon the roasted cherry tomatoes and olive tapenade over the fish.  Serve with a side dish (I did brocolli and mushrooms) and a good red wine - like a Cabernet or Zinfandel.  This is a spicy dish and you want a full bodied wine to stand up to it.  I'm going to sound like a complete idiot - but we had neither....LOL!!  We actually had an Italian Sangiovese that went great with it.  It was full bodied enough to pair well with the spiciness of the fish, but it didn't overpower it.  A Malbec would also be a great choice to go with this dish.  No matter what beverage you pair this with, you won't be disappointed!  I promise :)

So, this is what it looks like when you take it out of the oven:
And this is what it looks like before you dig in!

Saturday night, we had blue cheese, brie, salami and fig confit along with a delicious Argentinian Malbec.  I think that's one of my favorite dinners.  Me and Gary, cheese, and a glass of wine.  It doesn't get any better than that.

Gary and I will be married 10 years in August.  That's a long time.

This morning, Gary and I were discussing casting options for Christian Grey over our morning coffee.  I was giving him a run down of my pro (Armie Hammer) and my cons (everyone else).  And then...one of us brought up The Swedish Freight Train of Hotness (Alexander Skarsgard - Eric Northman from True Blood) and I swear to God, I turned scarlet and started giggling uncontrollably.  OH. MY. GOD.  He could do it.  Can't you just imagine that sexy mofo barefoot in just a pair of jeans holding a grey tie? And, he's also tall....just like Fifty!  Son of a bitch - he so freakin hot.  I was sitting in my chair and said, "fuck the paperwork." and Gary just looked at me like I was crazy.  I told him it was a line in the book and while I've only imagined (fantasized...LOL) about Armie Hammer saying that, I could totally see Alexander Skarsgard playing that role.  Mmmmm....

I like this picture - mainly because he's at a Gucci show...and we know how much I heart Gucci :o)
Time to go pick up the Juicy of Love and Deliciousness from Karate.  She had the day off from school and spent it dressing up Eddie and Waylon.  They look so embarrassed.....


Straight outta Ellis Co., folks.  Keepin it real one day at a time!!

Hey - congrats to all the chili winners and placers this weekend.  And what about Tim Collier?  Back to Back Howdy Roo winner.  WTG Tim!!!

Spreading joy, kindness and the freshest cumin you'll ever sniff........

The Cadillac Cowgirl

All's Well That Ends Well

I posted this on FB Saturday, but I also wanted to use my blog to tell a few really special people thank you for being helpful, supportive, non judgemental and very kind on Saturday.  More and more, I'm really learning some new lessons about friendship.  People can tell you all the time they're your friend; but when they act like complete assholes, it's hard to believe them.  Then, you've got the people who don't blow smoke up your ass and let their actions speak instead.  And let me tell you, actions speak louder than words.  I could easily wish for a do over on Saturday, but like the title of my post today, everything ended up just fine and I'm grateful to some really wonderful people.  Thank you again. 

I'm going to return to my Spicy life and get these orders out.

Oh - and congrats to everyone who placed this weekend.  (I got 8th - I guess I'm going to do this a point at a time)  Anyone know Tim Collier?  Back to Back Howdy Roo Winner.  Mild Bill's customer too.....

Coincidence?  I think not!!!

Keep it spicy!

K